Ely Cathedral, CAM
[O.S. TL 541 802]
Dedication: The Holy and Undivided Trinity
Dominating the surrounding low-lying fenland landscape since 1083 and granted cathedral status in 1109, Ely Cathedral church was originally dedicated to St. Etheldreda and St. Peter, being refounded as the Cathedral Church of the Holy and Undivided Trinity of Ely after the reformation.
The unique Octagonal Tower and Lantern, built under the supervision of Alan of Walsingham, replaces the original Norman central crossing tower, which had collapsed on the night of 12th February 1322. The Octagonal tower, with its vast internal open space and pinnacles and lantern above, is the most distinctive and celebrated feature of the cathedral.
This document and photograph are © Chris Newall 2016 and are not for sale or general publication.
The photograph may not be reproduced without permission.